• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Community restoration

fowens

Local time
2:24 PM
Reaction score
I posted something similar on a different forum. But, after reading through a lot of this site and seeing some of the knowledge you guys have with the 5.7l swap into B-bodies and this is what I'm looking to do.

I currently have a 1969 RR/383 auto. Looking forward to doing a complete restoration from bumper to bumper.

What I'd like to do, since I have zero mechanical experience (I'm even pretty new as far as what ever part is named), is have the community/group help walk me through taking it apart and putting it back together. I will ask a lot of questions and for your patience. If you point me to an article or a section of the service manual I'll review that. As I remove, baggy, label and take pics of everything, I'll post pics. Maybe it can be a good "how-to" for any noobs in the future.

Some pics are posted below and I'm hoping for your help to get this going as I'm unsure of how to accomplish the next steps. Hopefully I can get assistance on really everything. From removing the steering column, engine, window assemblies, suspension and pulling the body up and off for paint and getting the trunk floor fixed.

I know it's a tall order. But, I'm looking forward to coming out with a solid result with some (a lot) of your help.

Thanks, gents.

IMG_20131223_232214312.jpgIMG_20140121_165038684.jpgIMG_20140121_193034651.jpg