• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Cone type Sure Grip

Gus

Local time
10:46 AM
Reaction score
Anyone running a cone type sure grip . just asking ran across a 741 case with 323 gears and a cone type Sure Grip that I just bought not sure what to do with it yet does anyone have a thought on this. I was looking for a clutch type. I have two 742 cases didn't know if anyone had any success with a cone type. Thanks, Gus

Thank you, that was a very cool article very informative
I always sold the clutch type units and kept the cone types for me since no one really wanted the cone type so the prices were usually lower. I've been bringing them back to life for 30+ years myself. The main problem with them is when they quit locking up, people have a tendency to hammer on them thinking that they will lock up again and when they don't and only spin one wheel like an open rear end, it eats them up for lunch and kills it for good. So, you need to pull it apart and check how much clearance you have between the cone face and the case halves if it still has some (has to have some in order for it to work) and also check the rest of the internal parts.

Most of the cones I've taken apart are worn out. The back side of the inner cone is bottomed on the outer cone. Usually filled with metallic silver mud. If you could get parts , no problem. I would not buy one with out taking it apart.
Doug

Have a cone unit I'm going to put in my 3.23 open diff. Before I mentioned p/n should have asked how to test a unit. I know put in both axles and hold one (left?)so in doesn't turn and try to turn the other. Right? How hard should it be to turn the axle?