• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

leaf spring change???

tjgp360

Local time
3:59 AM
Reaction score
one of my old leaf springs broke and the ride is horrific,so now i have to replace them

i already bought replacements for both sides they are mopar XHD springs
i want to tackle the project this weekend but i have no experience at all when it comes to leaf springs, so what tools so i need exactly ?

i have done a bunch of reading but i never seen anything that actually referenced a b-body.

so what i want to know is what are the exact steps for replacing the rear springs in detail so that it goes smooth from start to finish

May want to get some new U bolts as the old ones my be so rusty and crusty they don't want to come off.

Just need a jack, ratchet wrench and a socket seet. Maybe an angle grinder too to cut off the U bolts if they are stuck and need replaced.

All there is to it is unbolting the old ones and bolting in the new set.
Do one side at a time.

Were did you order your springs from? did you go with a stock replacement spring or something different? I need to put new springs under the Belvedere and haven't done a lot of reserch yet. I call one place and they asked if it had 5 or 6 leafs. I personally don't want the car to ride rough, just was interested in how you picked what to buy?

Thanks

This is how I preffer pulling them out. Not to say it's by the book

Get your car up off the ground on 4 jacks (2 front frame rails, 2 rear), if you don't have a lift.

Lightly support the rear axle with a jackstand on each end of the axle housing before the spring mounts. Don't put any kind of load on it.

Remove your rear shocks at the shock mount pad. I remove mine completely so the aren't dangling in my way.