• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Original Exhaust Manifolds for a 1970 Coronet R/T

RT70

Local time
8:45 AM
Reaction score
I have an exhaust problem and I hope some of you Mopar (experts) folks can help me out. I have posted a number of questions over the last year and have got excellent advice from the people on this forum.

I have a 1970 Dodge Coronet R/T, and this is my first Mopar. The engine is a 440 Magnum coupled to a 727 Trans. The engine has headers, and I want to put the original exhaust manifolds back on. I have a number of questions as I am just learning about Mopars.

When I bought the R/T it came with a bunch of parts. There were a set of what looks like the original exhaust manifolds? I have attached a couple photos of the manifolds. The Right Manifold has these numbers on it “12297 2806900”, and the Left Manifold has these numbers on it “1228670 2843992-1”. Are these the correct exhaust manifolds for a 440HP in a 1970 Dodge Coronet R/T, and could someone decode these numbers?

On Sec._11-7, Fig._8, in the 1970 Dodge Coronet Service Manual, it shows an Upper Carburetor Air Heater and a Lower Carburetor Air Heater. These parts did not come with my R/T; do I need to have these parts for my car to operate properly? If I do need these Air Heater parts, where can I find them? In looking for exhaust parts from various Mopar vendors, I saw a “Spark Plug Heat Shield” for #6 & #8 Plugs; is this part needed? I also saw many exhaust hardware mounting kits; anyone have a recommended Mopar vendor for these?

What color should the exhaust manifolds be painted?

The “Heat Control Valve” appears to be in good shape; is there a recommended lubricant?

If anyone has any advice that would make this project go better or problems I might run into; I would appreciate any advice.