• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Ring Seating- What Actually Happens?

padam

Local time
5:36 PM
Reaction score
This may be a dumb question, but I’m asking anyway.
What is the physical process of piston rings seating in?
There really isn’t anywhere for them to go.
So what is the difference between rings that are seated and those that aren’t?

I'm not an expert or an experienced engineer builder but I think I can answer. Over time, the rings hone themselves to the exact profile of the cylinder and will stay in that position. They can rotate around the piston and once they are seated all the ring gaps will stay in the same spot and be able to compress the air-fuel mixture much better than new rings. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong but I think that is what is going on.

In a nut shell, the face of the ring takes a set to the cylinder wall. Cast rings take longer than say a Moly filled ring and each one takes a different grit finish hone on the cylinders.

Ring seating today is not the same as "yesteryear". Today's rings are usually "Pre-Lapped" to aid in seating. If a Torque plate is used during honing the cylinder, it is honed in the head installed/stressed condition, and the cylinder will be rounder than a cylinder honed without a torque plate. I have actually measured a cylinder, installed a torque plate, and re-measured and have seen as much as 0.002"-0.003" larger at the top due to stresses created by the head bolts.