• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Thrust Button Removal Help - 8 3/4 - 489

PaveFE

Local time
9:22 PM
Reaction score
I switched to green bearings. I understand the thrust buttons need to be removed in order for the axles to fully seat. I'm having a heck of a time getting the roll pin out with a punch. Anyone ever drill it out? This is my first time doing this, hate to break something.

TB roll pin.JPG TB other side.JPG sure grip.JPG

...........U have a cone type sure grip which does not have thrust buttons...The block in the center only comes out if u dissemble the sure grip.........if ur using stock axles u do not have to take the thrust block out...kim...

That explains it... Thanks

I would clean the ends of the axles then put clay on them and install and remove to see if they do butt up against it. If they do, you will have to remove the thrust block and that will require total disassembly of the Sure Grip unit to get the block out. If you do not remove the block (if the clay shows the axles are butting up to it), your bearings will fail prematurely.

Copy all. I took measurements of the axle with the old bearings and collar. The measurements with the green bearings and collar are nearly the same. I will use the clay and report the findings..