66 Coronet column tach mount

DodgeDos

Active Member
Local time
4:54 AM
Joined
Aug 21, 2020
Messages
28
Reaction score
34
Location
Newbury
I have a 66 coronet and am trying to mount a 3 3/8” tach on column where I can actually see it. Standard hardware doesn’t work. Any ideas of something someone built/sells that looks good? Or if someone built something nice post a pic and I can try to replicate it. Should be simple but spending most time on other things.
 

Tezza69GTX

Member
Local time
8:54 PM
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
21
Reaction score
21
Location
New Zealand
I have a 66 coronet and am trying to mount a 3 3/8” tach on column where I can actually see it. Standard hardware doesn’t work. Any ideas of something someone built/sells that looks good? Or if someone built something nice post a pic and I can try to replicate it. Should be simple but spending most time on other things.
Hey mate, Terry from NZ, just had the same problem so found a 2 1/4 exhaust clamp and bent up some 3 1/16 x 1" flat and mounted to clamp. Looks and works great, will try to attach pics, hope this helps. Cheers.

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg
 

DodgeDos

Active Member
Local time
4:54 AM
Joined
Aug 21, 2020
Messages
28
Reaction score
34
Location
Newbury
I like the industrial look to it. I have column shift so I may have to have it extend higher. Thank you for the idea and the pics. I will post up what the final looks like.
 

RJS

Well-Known Member
Local time
4:54 AM
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
998
Reaction score
287
Location
new jersey
here's my 66 Satellite with the mounting pieces right from the box. I used a large hose clamp after I slid it in rubber.

66Satellite73.JPG 66Satellite75.JPG
 

YY1

Well-Known Member
Local time
4:54 AM
Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
20,617
Reaction score
13,318
Location
FL
I did something similar to post 4 but I put in a small wood spacer painted black.

I also turned the mount around, so the tach is closer to the wheel, and away from the dash.

I had to do that to make it work on my 73.
 

DodgeDos

Active Member
Local time
4:54 AM
Joined
Aug 21, 2020
Messages
28
Reaction score
34
Location
Newbury
Thank you for the ideas and pics. The biggest problem I am having is column shifter interference. I think making a similar bracket and extending it higher may work.

9FE56D04-F22C-4950-BC10-E7A2AB30F057.jpeg
 

RussT Plymouths

Well-Known Member
Local time
3:54 AM
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
228
Reaction score
160
Location
Kansas
This was my solution when my '67 still had the 727 column shift. I modified the supplied mounting bracket that was too short and had a bad angle. A little wrinkle paint and it looks like it grew there. 30 plus years of dust gives it that barn look.

IMG_1676.JPG
IMG_1677.JPG
IMG_1679.JPG



And before anyone says it, the speedometer is from a '72.
 

YY1

Well-Known Member
Local time
4:54 AM
Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
20,617
Reaction score
13,318
Location
FL
Try adding a spacer block.
 

Brewzer67

Well-Known Member
Local time
3:54 AM
Joined
Dec 20, 2015
Messages
408
Reaction score
360
Location
Menomonee Falls, WI
Here is the mount I made for mine. It just sticks to the dash and can be moved to exactly where you want it.

Tach_Mount.jpg
 

Fran Blacker

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:54 AM
Joined
Sep 23, 2016
Messages
12,226
Reaction score
12,092
Location
Connecticut
Cut a hole the diameter of column in a piece of wood. Cut it in half so I had a U made strap to go around column. Painted wood black.
sattach.JPG
Mount ed tach first .
 

66four40

Well-Known Member
Local time
1:54 AM
Joined
Nov 18, 2013
Messages
94
Reaction score
27
Location
Langley, BC
Here are a couple pictures of mine. I'm working with a column shift as well, so needed to make a little foot for the mount that came with the tach. Let me know if you want any other angles, or a better picture.

tach_mount.jpg tach_mount_2.jpg
 

DodgeDos

Active Member
Local time
4:54 AM
Joined
Aug 21, 2020
Messages
28
Reaction score
34
Location
Newbury
A couple tries at making a new bracket. 1st one, terrible idea, bought a pre made aluminum bracket. I couldn’t position it at the top and kept rotating down.

8A8F733C-D2DE-4B47-9341-575E0DD115E1.jpeg
 

DodgeDos

Active Member
Local time
4:54 AM
Joined
Aug 21, 2020
Messages
28
Reaction score
34
Location
Newbury
What I ended up doing was using some aluminum bar stock and the auto meter brackets. I will get it coated this winter. Too much to do now. Thank you for the ideas.
C0DBD67F-B4D6-4379-BA38-392ED2FF1D0C.jpeg
684F493F-595D-422E-851B-571FB1C2E0AC.jpeg 335AE7FC-B65F-4717-92C1-30DD1C462E5D.jpeg
 
Top