• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

8 speed Trans w Gen 2 Hemi?

RXTREME

Local time
5:19 AM
Reaction score
Hello Im building a 70 Charger and im self taught im 22 and still learning so bear with me. One day i want to have a supercharged mopar 572 hemi hopefully 1000 hp plus. Ive been studying transmission. I have a 727, but I want the card to be fast in the long run and have good acceleration. Is there an automatic 8 speed trans that will work with such motor and horsepower? If i go manual id like a 6 speed. Same question at before? Let me know your thoughts!

Hi Austin, you posted again! After your first post back in Aug 2022, when you didn't respond to anyone's answers about fenders, we thought you might have ghosted us. Nice to have you back.

You've definitely come to the right place here, I'm sure every one of us would also like to have a 1000 hp plus supercharged hemi in our cars. You'll have to slide some pictures over when you get yours!

If you're thinking of a modern automatic like the hellcat uses for your Charger, you'll have a couple of issues to get out of the way. First of all, heavy duty eight speed transmissions, like the ZF designed torqueflite8 are large units, you'll need to modify your transmission tunnel. And since they're using the small block pattern that the modern hemi engine has, you will also need an adaptor. Plus electronic controls to make it shift with your engine.