• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Australian drag racing.

Hemi Rebel

Local time
1:38 PM
Reaction score
If anyone has mav tv at 7pm eastern they have australian drag racing scheduled. Dont know what that is all about but im going to record it and watch it

Yes, I've been catching it for a couple of months now. There is a bit of a difference and I'm still trying to figure it all out. They are running in kph instead of mph but the commentators are converting it for the viewers. They have a lot of different alki classes and I'm thinking the top fuel is nitro? Looks like they are running full 1/4 mile passes.
I have been wanting to ask some of the Aussies on here to get us up to speed.

Channel 248 on Dish

Watched it last night. It was funny seeing the times ,like: 6.57 @ 301.50. Not used to KPH.

All tracks in Australia are still 1/4 mile, even for Top Fuel and Nitro Funny car. While we don't have the same number of cars and competitors you guys have in the US, we still have a few guys who put a lot of effort and money in and run some world class numbers.

If anyone has mav tv at 7pm eastern they have australian drag racing scheduled. Dont know what that is all about but im going to record it and watch it

Umm..it's drag racing..What variations were you expecting? ;) Kangaroo pit crew?

Well, I suppose we drive the car from the right side..so that has a degree of technicality to it! Oh, unless it's a rail or a funny car..then all is the same as the US.

All the classes are the same as in the US too. All the way up to Top Fuel.