• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Blue voltage regulator

It can easily overcharge the battery in constant use. Its hard to explain but it is constantly at 13.5 output. Not variable depending on demand if that makes sense?

I thought as long as voltage doesn’t exceed 15 V its ok? Im a battery service driver for aaa and i see voltages above 13.5 constantly all the time at idle but not above 15 volts

Kind of hard to explain. It is a constant output not regulated. Kind of like full fielding the alternater but not fully. Drag racers use them to get a fast charge back in the batteries. Let me see if I can find a explaination.

Pretty good here

"Constant output" is a misleading name for this regulator. All ordinary voltage regulators regulate (i.e., keep constant) the line voltage in the running automobile. There's no such thing as a magical regulator that can overcome Ohm's Law -- by which I mean that when the alternator is producing less than 13.5v because engine RPMs are low and electrical demands are high, the regulator cannot magically cause the line voltage to be 13.5v. In fact, the "constant output" regulator is nothing more or less than a regular regulator with its mounting bracket plastic-coated to insulate it from ground. This has the effect of full-fielding the alternator so line voltage goes way up with engine revs. This can give you a stronger spark for a very short time before things start getting damaged, so it really, really is a race-only item (and kind of a dumb one). You're far better off with a regular regulator. The MP resto regulator looks nifty, but the quality of the electronics is poor (same with MP ignition boxes!). Call up Ray at Old Car Parts Northwest for a NOS genuine Mopar regulator.

Thanks for the explanation. Best mopar forum out there