• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Coming out of Hibernation

Plymouth71

Waterslide Decal Artist
Local time
3:47 PM
Reaction score
Spring is on the way and I can't wait to pull my car out of storage. It's been a long winter and at the moment it's not giving up without a fight, but I'm keeping a positive attitude.

I'm a Noob at this and I only purchased my car late summer early fall last year. I asked about suggestions for parking her on a previous thread I was very thankful and impressed with the response I received.

Ok, now that that's out of the way, I'd appreciate some advice on what to do to wake the beast. I added fogging oil to the carburetor, and fuel stabilizer to a full take of fuel. I removed the carburetor to rebuild it over the winter and I will hopefully be ready to install it in the coming weeks. I'm thinking of a good inspection, oil lube and filter. Wash, wax and vacuum. WHAT ELSE !?!?!

Thank you for you input guys. it is appreciated.

IMGP3861.jpg

IMGP0029.jpg

Last edited:
If you can try to fill the bowls on the carb with fuel after installation. This will limit your cranking time. If you can't then spray carb cleaner into the carb and try to start. It will start then die and repeat till it starts. This may take 3-4 times but will eliminate all of the canking time and will take stress off your engine and starting circuit. Then a good wash and detail and you will be good to go.

everything you said above, oil,filter, inspection, wash wax and then..... DRIVE , very nice car, love the color combo

Push it outside before starting it,when it starts it will smoke until the fogging burns out.When you get a chance after driving it,pull some spark plugs out and take a look.:icon_jokercolor: