• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

dried weather stripping caulk

plumgtx

Local time
4:35 AM
Reaction score
What is the best way to get rid of this junk beneath my chrome mouldings? Its 40 years old and hard as a rock. I left my trim pieces out in the sun today and it softened some of the crap up so I could scrape it out but man it was tough. It would be nice if there was a chemical solution I could leave it in. I am new to the resto process so let me know how you guys did it.

If the sun is helping by heating it, you could try a heat gun on "LOW" and do it, you could also try a mixture of white vinegar and water, two parts water, one part white vinegar and soak it in that, That stuff is hard to get out and its a couple suggestions i know of... Good luck.

It is called Butyl and it is a real pain to clean off of anything. There must be a better way but I use Laquer Thinner.

Yep, Butyl is a pain in the arse! I tried just about everything from solvents to an eraser wheel(usually used to remove pin stripes and graphics) and if you want to keep the paint in tact the best thing I found to get the big chunks out was as Ron suggested was a heat gun on low, and a plastic scraper. Once the big stuff is out, adhesive remover and lots of towels to clean of the remaining residue.

I have used a craftsman cotter pin extractor tool that's like a bent screwdriver to get under and scrape the sealer to get it off in large sections then 80gr sand paper to clean up the rest then a wipe down with acetone... if it is hard and brittle it comes off Bette than if it is still gummy.