• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

69 Charger Awakening

Yeah I've been working in Barrie for a few years now. Its nice not having to commute to toronto for a while. Very busy right now which is good. I'm going to need some OT $$$$ to pay for parts!

Started working on the lower control arms. I found a tip online from steve dulcich about welding a washer onto the bushing shell and then using a press to remove it. Seemed like an easy way to do it so I tried it.

20180211_163321.jpg

I took the lcas to work to use their press. I didnt take any pics of this process but it didnt work for me. The press broke my welds off. So I asked a welder at work to weld the washers back on. He put some good welds onto it. He also heated the outside with a torch before we went back to the press annnnnnnnd......the welds broke off again. Then i tried heating around the shell and pouring some oil on it......no go. So i went at the low tech way and used a cold chisel and hammer. 30min later i had one out! 2nd side only took 20min of hammering i guess I'm getting better at this.

20180217_185949.jpg

You should squeeze the lca snugly together by the bushing/pivot area with a clamp before/as you weld the plate on.

Last edited:
I think I put mine in my vise and tighten till they felt snug but still easy to rotate the adjuster arm. I also oiled the areas where the adjuster spins in the lca to make it smoother and help determine how tight to go. The adjuster rotates with the lca when driving so there is really never any harmful friction or movement between them. But after saying all that, you probably can't get them too tight, the weight of the car will probably move it to where it needs to be, if to tight to move by hand.

Last edited: