• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

A veterans story.

Ghostrider 67

Jack Stand Racer #6..and proud of it!
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:55 AM
Reaction score
How a Veteran Sees Life.

by J. Mark Jackson ( 2nd Cav, 82nd Airborne, 101st Airborne, Screaming Eagles)

I was a soldier, and I went to war. By and by I became known as a veteran. My civilian career progressed, my family grew and the Army drifted into the gray mist of memory. But the experience of military service leaves an indelible imprint on the psyche and soul of each soldier, sailor, airman, and Marine.
What is it like on a day- to -day basis, to be a veteran? To this Army combat veteran it means all of the following, and more:
Being surprised by how much 4th of July fireworks sound like a mortar attack..
...and how much a nail gun sounds startlingly like the bark of an AK- 47 when heard in the distance.
Turning to Advil as the narcotic of choice for a bad back, and creaky bones , each earned like an invisible Purple Heart.
Watching the evening news and feeling guilty for not being there and fighting beside those soldiers in the story...
...but being grateful that the country doesn't still require my service, because it was always sweltering hot and I could no longer keep up physically. This is a poignant realization for any former soldier.
Waking up from a dead sleep, frantically searching for my weapon while my wife softly says," It's all right; it's all right, your home."
Finding a lump in my throat and tears welling in my eyes when I see images of a weeping wife, or a mother holding a flag folded in a triangle.
Hearing a mother say, " Thank you for your service. Because you served, my son didn't have to." Really?