Adding speakers / aux on factory radio?

Electrical & Ignition

  1. jmbass98

    jmbass98 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2020
    Location:
    United States
    Local Time:
    8:32 PM
    Never messed with audio before. Can I seamlessly add two more speakers and an aux cable to a 1966 Charger factory A/M radio? Or do I need to do some extra work? I can't find a diagram for the radio to see what connections there are.
     
  2. RT6PK

    RT6PK Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    516
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Location:
    Poland, Ohio
    Local Time:
    11:32 PM
    I do believe that there is only one speaker output on your radio. You could splice into it and add speakers, but you will not have left / right balance or front / rear fader control.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Xp29h

      Xp29h FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      5,220
      Likes Received:
      5557
      Joined:
      Aug 9, 2013
      Location:
      Maine
      Local Time:
      11:32 PM
      I'm not entirely familiar with that setup you have but in general when you add or splice into speakers wires or outputs on any type of stereo the ohms rating drops or increases in half or more depending on how many speakers you add and series or parallel will make a difference. In series, the ohms will increase.. 2 - 8 ohm speakers in series will be a 16 ohm load, if you added 2 more speakers you'd be at 32 ohm load. In parallel 2 - 8 ohm speakers will be a 4 ohm load, or add 2 more speakers and be very low ohm load. Plus, in most cases the amplifier is set and designed for certain ohms and can be damaged if not correct. If I recall, many stereos from that era are usually 4 ohms but check for sure..
       
    • 747mopar

      747mopar Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      12,186
      Likes Received:
      14848
      Joined:
      Oct 30, 2012
      Location:
      ohio
      Local Time:
      10:32 PM
      I could be wrong but I believe you can use your existing speaker wire as an amp input instead of an aux cord then run all of your speakers off of it. Doing this would mean unplugging your speaker and routing those wires to the amp then feeding the speakers off of the amp.

      Call the folks at Crutchfield, knowledgeable staff that can help.
       
      Last edited: Jan 14, 2021
    1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
      By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.