• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Auto Electrical Guru Needed for Confab

VFilms

Local time
12:24 AM
Reaction score
I know this is a B Body forum but I'm looking for general electrical help. I just bought a '93 Olds Cutlass Conv for my son and it has multiple electrical issues. I'm looking for an electrical guru to share ideas with. I am a retired line mechanic and have all the service manuals and diagrams which I can share. I'd like to be able to discuss troubleshooting and possible causes on an ongoing professional level. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Problems include electrical shorts in multiple systems, mostly courtesy, door lock and power mirror systems. No engine or ECM issues at this time.

Thanks
Mick

You might have better luck on an Olds forum (http://oldsmobileforums.com/forums/index.php) or ask very specific questions. If memory serves me correctly, Oldsmobiles during that period were plagued with electrical problems, particularly the digital dash. My uncle used to have one.

Glen

Glen
Thanks. I begin to the Classic Olds forum, but oddly electrical diagnostics is almost a lost art. Multiple systems have dead shorts so I'm trying to locate a common thread.
Thanks again for the reply.

Hi Mick,
Are these actually short circuits, i.e. fuses blowing, melting wiring, etc., or things just aren't functioning?