• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

big block and small block 727 difference?

thequickster

Local time
10:43 PM
Reaction score
this is probably a dumb question but im a novice to this stuff, but is there a such thing as a big block 727 trans and a small block 727. and if there is what is the difference, i have a 67 coronet 318 727 trans and was looking into a big block purchase and wanted to know if my current transmission would work.
Any help is greatly appreciated Thanks -thequickster

Attachments

• IMG_3287.jpg
    IMG_3287.jpg
    61.3 KB · Views: 2,122
No, that's not a dumb question.... there's are two different versions & they're different where it bolts up to the engine. I think they're called 727A (small block) & 727B (big block). I think most of the small block ones were behind 340's and I think the 360's had a A-999 or something like that (?) and the 318's and 6's used 904's. The big block 727's are much easier to find.

Besides the difference of the bellhousing, clutchs and carriers are different.

good 67 you have there...nice straight body. I looked EVERY WHeRE for one of those...before my 68

If you are looking for a 727 also be aware of the later ones "lock up" converters. The "regular" 727 has splines all the way to the end of the front shaft. The "lock up" version has a smooth area looks just like a 4 speed pilot shaft.

Depending on the year, the guts will interchange out of the different cases, as noted above, some are better than others. Highly recommend you spend the bucks on the book by Munroe

http://www.amazon.com/Torqueflite-A-727-Transmission-Handbook-HP1399/dp/1557883998

Smallblock A727 is 7 3/4 inches between top center mounting holes A727 bigblock is 6 7/16 between same bolts. Ditto 440roadrunner, get the HP book #1399.