• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Edelbrock Power Package Top-End Kits 2087

GTXGreasemonkey

Local time
7:32 PM
Reaction score
I'm rebuilding my 68' 440 engine. I'm wanting around 500-525hp. I know this kit will get me to the high 490hp range.
1. I am wondering what rocker setup everyone recommend I use? Should I stick with the original, or should I purchase something else?
2. The kit comes with a hydraulic flat tappet cam. Should I see about upgrading the cam? If so to what?
4. What piston do I upgrade to? do I go with forged (no brainer), or try the hyper pistons? I'm thinking nothing more than 10.5 compression.
3. I want this to be a fun/mean streetable car. I'm trying to keep a budget in mind. Prefer to reuse as much old product as possible.
I appreciate any and all feedback. I'm not a professional, but enjoying learning!!!! This is for my 1968 GTX!

Personally I don't feel that package will get you there - mainly because of the camshaft. I'd also plan to have the heads checked and corrected by a reputable performance shop before you run them.
If the RPM cam is your preference - you have to have adjustable rockers per the Edelbrock catalog for the RPM hydraulic camshaft that comes in the kit. You will also need the appropriate pushrods for those adjustable rockers. If it was me, I'd run a sintered iron rocker (Crane or Isky if you can find them) in a 1.5 ratio, and order custom pushrods once the engine is assembled and you can measure for them.