Fusible link Question

pearljam724

Well-Known Member
Local time
2:41 AM
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
1,260
Reaction score
547
Location
U.S.
If you want to replace fusible link. Can you just add an inline blade fuse ? And what amp fuse would someone suggest ?
 

493 Mike

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
2:41 AM
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
4,282
Reaction score
4,764
Location
White Cloud, MI
Different fusible links have different ratings. What are you trying to protect? Yes a fuse will provide the same protection.
Mike
 

pearljam724

Well-Known Member
Local time
2:41 AM
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
1,260
Reaction score
547
Location
U.S.
Different fusible links have different ratings. What are you trying to protect? Yes a fuse will provide the same protection.
Mike
I have to replace my original wire attached to the relay and firewall harness. It’s corroded internally. The original types available I’m not willing to pay $40 for and the more affordable ones have too small of a gauge wire attached. So, i’m going to make my own out of similiar gauge wire as original with a blade fuse. I’m trying to find out what a proper amp fuse would be.
 

Darter6

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
1:41 AM
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
6,119
Reaction score
7,174
Location
Nevada
I just plugged in "Chrysler fusiable link " on the internet and several charts came up, gauge,color code etc.
Also try www.repairconnector.com and type in "Chrysler". They show a 18 gauge factory style fusiable link for $2.49.
 

PLMHEMI

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
2:41 AM
Joined
Oct 31, 2019
Messages
1,386
Reaction score
946
Location
Ray Twp, Michigan
Keep in mind, different amp alternators used a different gauge fusible link wire...
 

pearljam724

Well-Known Member
Local time
2:41 AM
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
1,260
Reaction score
547
Location
U.S.
My original one is a blue / green its a lot thicker than 18 gauge. Probably 10 or 12. The fuse link wire connects to the starter relay into the bulkhead harness. Where does that connection go beyond that, the alternator gauge ?
 

RJRENTON

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
1:41 AM
Joined
Jul 1, 2015
Messages
2,851
Reaction score
2,766
Location
South Shores area of Decatur, Illinois
IMO...
Bill and Rose Evans market Mopar wiring harnesses including the fusable link.
www.evanswiring.com
phone (814) 864-2622*fax (814) 866-8184
Regarding the use of a replaceable fuse, it needs to be sized properly to be effective. A mega fuse would be suitable. A fusable link provides a slight delay b4 it opens, to allow for momentary overloads, plus Its easy to replace (relatively). If considering a mega fuse, 30 - 40 amp range would be acceptable providing the total electrical amps do not exceed the fuse amps. Perhaps 10% more than total amps needed to properly size the fuse AND the wiring being protected.
BOB RENTON
 

hunt2elk

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
1:41 AM
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
8,953
Reaction score
8,627
Location
WI
My original one is a blue / green its a lot thicker than 18 gauge. Probably 10 or 12. The fuse link wire connects to the starter relay into the bulkhead harness. Where does that connection go beyond that, the alternator gauge ?
I believe the original blue links are 16 gauge.
 

pearljam724

Well-Known Member
Local time
2:41 AM
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
1,260
Reaction score
547
Location
U.S.
IMO...
Bill and Rose Evans market Mopar wiring harnesses including the fusable link.
www.evanswiring.com
phone (814) 864-2622*fax (814) 866-8184
Regarding the use of a replaceable fuse, it needs to be sized properly to be effective. A mega fuse would be suitable. A fusable link provides a slight delay b4 it opens, to allow for momentary overloads, plus Its easy to replace (relatively). If considering a mega fuse, 30 - 40 amp range would be acceptable providing the total electrical amps do not exceed the fuse amps. Perhaps 10% more than total amps needed to properly size the fuse AND the wiring being protected.
BOB RENTON
Thanks, Bob. That’s all the fusible link is, an inline fuse right ? Where does this wire connect inside the dash, the alternator gauge ?
 

383man

Well-Known Member
Local time
1:41 AM
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
4,798
Reaction score
3,629
Location
Md
I have used these type of large fuses. I can bolt it to this stud and bolt it to an eyelet terminal on the wire. Been using this one for years as its a 70 amp. Ron

414426746.jpg
 

Darter6

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
1:41 AM
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
6,119
Reaction score
7,174
Location
Nevada
As stated above you will find most aftermarket wiring kits use a 50 amp replaceable Maxi fuse.
 

Top