• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Harmonic balancer Question

65coronet440

Local time
12:31 PM
Reaction score
I got a little wobble on my harmonic balancer, ive had a bad vibration that ive been chasing for 4 months now, but whether this fixes it or not, it needs to be replaced...

So ive been looking at some on ebay and summit and a few other places. Ive noticed that there are different weights and O.D diatmeters, is there a way i can fiqure out what i have before i order a incorrect one.

I saw a few that were 30 dollars to 300 dollars, i dont want to get a cheap one because my engine is far from stock...

so any suggestions??

How far from stock are you? If you need a SFI balancer then you need to spend the money. Stock balancers don't cut it on non stock engines that turn higher rpm. Stockers can come apart too easily especially if they are older.....

I dont have any offical HP numbers, but it runs a 12.43 in the quarter. and still has a unused 200shot, im thinking 550-600hp at the flywheel W/O spray

I saw the SFI balancers, and thought that would be the way to go....
but i had to ask around first..

If im in that deep, any suggestions for additional repairs?

What you need to know in order to get the correct balancer is weather you have an internally or externally balanced engine. The forged cranks are internally balance and from the factory had a much smaller balancer than the cast cranks.

The factory original 440 steel forged crank balancer is 7 1/2" X 1" the cast crank on is larger.