• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

New guy checking in from Virginia

owwwch

Local time
1:22 PM
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I just wanted to check in and introduce myself. I recently acquired a 66 Belvedere with a big block and will have a ton of questions( tech and parts related) as I have been out of the mopar scene for about 20 years. My back story… I’ll try to keep it short. My father ran an automotive shop for 18 years and raised me on mopars. He’s had the best of the best… back in the day. Fast forward to high school, my father got me a near mint 68 charger. That he had gotten and sold prior. It was always my favorite car. I drove it my last 2 years and when I graduated he gave me the title and $100 for gas. At the time of graduation I had a variety of muscle and decided to sell the charger to my best friend for $1500. Instant regret! 3 days later I offered him 3k for it back only to be rejected. Fast forward about 2 years and he was in a jam and I bought it back for $1200 w a locked up 318. He also gave me a 383/727 with it. I towed the car to my cousins house and began ordering parts to be delivered to my fathers house while the motor was in the machine shop getting worked. He asked several times what the heck I was building and I just smiled and said “get ready”. 15k later (back when I had money and no kids/mortgage) the car was done w a 509 purple shaft, Keith Black pistons and a ton of machine work, 3800 stahl, reverse manual, 391 sure grip and a list big as you could imagine. So now the time has come to do what I had intended. I drove the car to my fathers house nervous and excited at the same time. I pulled up grinning ear to ear as he came outside after hearing the rumble and was blown away. He walked around the car, popped the hood and was in shock and said