• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

question for electricians on home project

It's when the ears don't grab..then you get your wiggly piece of **** . I'm learning from this thread.
I give it; :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Yeah, I know....electricians always come in last and have to deal with the "other trades" (a.k.a. meatheads!) mistakes. In this case tile guys that cut the box opening too big....
To have a successful installation in any situation you have to know how to adapt and overcome...
I've been in the biz 25 years and even though residential work is brain-dead easy, I hate doing it! Even on my own house.

going to do a backsplash in the kitchen, are there spacers that are made to compensate for the tile thickness so the outlets and switches are at the proper depth.
Hey Dan I do tile for a living. What you need to do is cut the tile so that the "ears" of the receptacles sit on the tile cut(when you cut the tile in a U shape). You'll use extended screws, I use 1 ¼" drywall screws or you can get machine bolts to match the original.

Also, if you have any GFCI, you'll want to notch a small hole on top and bottom for the plate screws to go through(otherwise it will push the plate cover out when you go to put the plates on).

Last edited:
Hey Dan I do tile for a living. What you need to do is cut the tile so that the "ears" of the receptacles sit on the tile cut(when you cut the tile in a U shape). You'll use extended screws, I use 1 ½" drywall screws or you can get machine bolts to match the original.
Thank you!
A tile guy that knows what he's doing. I wish they were all like you!