• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Rechroming various stuff local or send them out

John H

Local time
10:44 AM
Reaction score
I have a mostly original 67 Coronet 440 rag top that has its original chrome trim throuhout. Much of it is pitted but in great shape. Is it cheaper to send it out somwhere or just have it down locally? I was going to send it out/have it done, a few pieces at a time. (Windshield trim etc)

If your local place produces good quality results why would you send it out? If they don’t, why wouldn’t you send it out?

I am new to the game. I don't know anyone in my area. Just wondering. Also can anyone recommend a chrome company in the Massachsetts area?

Most of the chrome on a 67 is pot metal. Some chrome shops won’t touch it. Your wing window frames are chrome. Emblems are chrome, bumpers, some interior trim. 440 exterior trim has a lot of anodized aluminum. Are you sure the windshield frame is chrome and not stainless?

Local vs not isn’t a choice, you need to find people to work on the parts. Here in PA LiBrandis is local to me, fortunately. They did my pot metal emblems and they were not the best. Paul’s Plating in Pittsburgh is a better choice for that but you’ll pay for it. Local makes it nice so you can cut out shipping.

The best price for bumpers is tri city plating in Tennessee and again you can drop off at various shows in country small parts and pot metal is sky hi no matter who does it