• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What have I gotten myself into???

Hi guys my name is Dean. When I describe myself you may wonder why I started here initially and after starting to hear some of my currently evolving story, you may wonder why I am still here.

I have been a Mercedes-Benz technician pretty much my whole adult life and I am just shy of 44 years old. My dad's side of the family is from the hills of Kentucky and if you know anything about them thar hills it's that they have always loved old domestic muscle cars. My Dad and my Uncles were all big into cars when they were young and this continued well into my early years. I remember my dad having a 57' Chevy 210, 68" Camaro, 71' Cutlass and a 66 GTO. He was a GM man for sure but loved talking about all the old fast cars of the 60's and their experiences racing the streets down in Kentucky (Dorton, Kentucky area).

I of course have always loved muscle cars and knew one day I would get something of my own or something my son and I could build together. Well, my son is still only 6 but I had some cash saved up and started looking though I was not particularly looking for any certain body or brand. I came along a local 1965 Satellite, original owner that 'hotrodded' it in the late 70's/early 80's and left pretty much in that condition in a storage building behind his house.

I bought this car knowing it was to be a project and that I was in no rush. Now with it in my possession I somehow feel rushed to dig into her and will soon start a thread on what I have found.