• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

383 rebuild advice

Local time
11:33 AM
Reaction score
I've been a long time lurker here and appreciate all the things I've learned from everyone. I have the 383 out of my 66 Satellite because I found some issues with it. The 516 heads are shot (leaking valves and guides). A few cylinder walls have significant up and down scratches enough to break a nail on. This will be a first time engine rebuild for me. The car is a cruiser, but I'd like to hit the dragstrip a few times for that rush. I dont have a big budget, but I have all the time in the world. I'm a diesel mechanic by trade so I have some mechanical ability! My dream is a low deck stroker (440source, or Eagle) that looks basically stock but rips. My wallet says I'll probably just have to do a stock rebuild! No matter what, the block will be going out to be looked at and freshened up. I will not be reusing iron heads. Does anyone have any recommendations for Mopar friendly machine shops in and around North East Ohio? I'm kinda curious as to what people are paying to have block work done, from cleaning, magnafluxing, measuring, honing, etc? If I decide to go somewhat stock, can I get away with just new pistons and rings? (Assuming the crank and rods are good). Any advice would be appreciated! In looking for a good running engine and 400 or so HP when done. Thanks!

You might consider a prebalanced 440Source stroker kit. For what you'll pay to have your crank and rods done, new pistons, rings, bearings and balancing, you'd probably come out even AND have your stroker. And their heads are a good bang for the buck. And if you were to find a 400 block for a $100 bucks or so you'd have a big low deck stroker.