• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

65 Belvedere II 383 conversion

chops

Local time
6:36 PM
Reaction score
Hope you can help. I'm installing a 383 engine in a 65 Belvedere II, I bought an conversion kit from Schumachers. The problem I'm having is that the engine looks to be setting crooked in the car and it looks like it should be setting back about 1"-2". The shifter hits the hump when you shift into first gear and the shifter hangs to the left side of the car in the hump. When I center the transmission in the tunnel the shifter still hangs to the left. I had to add a 2" piece to the original tranny mount to get it to set in the proper place on the tranny. I'm new to the Mopar scene and I hope someone did this conversion and offer me some insight. Thanks

install issue

Questions?
Did you install in a slant 6 K member?
Was a 66 and up V8 K member installed?
Did you buy the correct 62-65 B engine motor mounts?
Did you install the correct mounts on the correct side of block ears?

Is the floor tunnel original? or a retro install which may be mis fitted?

red

Big Block Conversion