• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

72 Charger Tail Lamps not Lighting

JR_Charger

Local time
2:25 AM
Reaction score
A little backstory, I've been restoring the car and everything has been off the back of the car and repainted. The bumper was originally chrome, but I've painted it. The tail lights worked before I took everything apart. They don't work now.

Here are the wiring diagrams from the FSM -

tail_light_electrical_diagram_Charger.jpeg
tail_light_electrical_diagram_Charger2.jpeg

I'm not an electrician and I don't understand this. If I were guessing, I'd say L7-18BK, D7-18BR, D8-18DGN and B2A18V should be providing power. The back up lights have one line going in because they only have one filament, and the regular tail lights have two lines going in because they have a 2nd filament for the brakes. The left side marker lamp has a line coming out that goes to ground, because it can't ground on the plastic lens housing. The right side marker lamp has a line coming out that goes to ground on the outermost passenger side tail lamp.

I think this symbol -

bulb_ground_symbol.jpeg

indicates that the socket is grounding on the bumper.

So far the advice I've gotten is that the tail lights aren't grounding. I painted the bumper, the bumper support brackets, and the back of the car - so I wonder if there is too much paint for the lights to ground through? If that's the problem is there a way to run a new ground?

FWIW I tested the connector in the trunk and could only get two of the prongs to light up my testing light, so my idea that all four provide power may be incorrect. I'm beyond my depth here.