• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Another 383 build.

I think some might say that 1 3/4" headers may be better for this build, but I am no expert here, so I will throw this out there for consideration.
I’ve done dyno tests on a mildly built RV 440 stock bottom end, .020 steel head gaskets and mildly ported 906 heads with an eddy rpm intake and 750dp Holley. 1 3/4 and 1 7/8 headers the 1 7/8 were better all across the board. He should be fine.

I didn't want to hijack the Swedish guy's thread anymore so I started this thread.
I'm rebuilding the original engine in this car:
View attachment 956102
It is a 383 2 barrel. It is virgin bore with original pistons, steel crank, 727 trans and 3,23 gears. I have other ratios I can use including 3.55s and 3.91s. I put a 3.23 chunk in it just because I had it handy.
I will be using 1 7/8" headers, a Holley 750 vacuum secondary carb on either a Holley Street Dominator or an Edelbrock Performer RPM intake. At first I might get it running with a points distributor or a stock based electronic ignition.
I am looking to be at or below 9.5 to 1 since I am using iron heads with stock valve sizes. I have a set of '346 heads that had been rebuilt with new exhaust seats put in. I did some amateur porting to them and have them at the machine shop now for a 3 angle valve job.
I'm using these pistons by Speed Pro:

https://www.summitracing.com/parts/slp-l2315nf30

I am not building this engine strictly to race, I want reliability and adequate power since I'll primarily drive on the street. THis engine may not be the only engine that I use in the car. I may step up to a 440 or stroke this 383 sometime later on. I just want to get it running and have some fun with it. I may road race it . I'm not interested in building a track-only car though.