• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Brake conversion.

Local time
5:33 AM
Reaction score
Hey people. I have a '71 B body i am converting from 4 wheel manual drum to manual front disc/ rear drum.

My question is: do i need to replace proportioning valve? I have a disc/drum master cylinder for swap.

Thanks in advance!

Hey people. I have a '71 B body i am converting from 4 wheel manual drum to manual front disc/ rear drum.

My question is: do i need to replace proportioning valve? I have a disc/drum master cylinder for swap.

Thanks in advance!
On my 70 I used an adjustable valve to the rear brakes. Others should chime in with advice and maybe a pic of the valve

Yes. Add an adjustable proportioning valve to the rear brakes after the pressure differential valve/ junction block that is in there now.

I got my best adjustment by driving in a parking lot with glare ice. It was hard to do in Texas, but it can happen.

Yes. Add an adjustable proportioning valve to the rear brakes after the pressure differential valve/ junction block that is in there now.
Thanks for reply. I did locate a "metering block" that is For disc/drum brakes. OE style. This will eliminate the need for an adjustable proportioning valve; correct?

Yes, replace the proportioning valve.
I have the same set-up that you are going to do.
I used the proper proportioning valve.
1701862417248.png

One of the ports is plugged as I'm also using a line-loc - you can see the bottom of it just under the proportioning valve.