Edelbrock 1407 carb problem

Fuel and Air Systems

  1. Geff McCarthy

    Geff McCarthy Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2019
    Location:
    Portland OR
    Local Time:
    2:23 AM
    Idles at 15-1800 rpm, with fast idle screw all the way back even a gap. What else can i adjust? thanks.
     
  2. myk r sanchez

    myk r sanchez FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    955
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Location:
    Sun diego
    Local Time:
    2:23 AM
    The main idle screw doesn't change the idle speed?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • threewood

      threewood FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      4,274
      Likes Received:
      5035
      Joined:
      May 30, 2014
      Location:
      Yuma, AZ
      Local Time:
      2:23 AM
      Remove your kickdown linkage and throttle cable and see if it drops. Could have moved and won't allow throttle arm to return forward all the way.
       
    • myk r sanchez

      myk r sanchez FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      641
      Likes Received:
      955
      Joined:
      Apr 29, 2018
      Location:
      Sun diego
      Local Time:
      2:23 AM
      Yes. Check and make sure that the throttle arm is capable of returning all of the way...
       
    • moparedtn

      moparedtn Ed on the Ridge FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      6,215
      Likes Received:
      9021
      Joined:
      May 14, 2011
      Location:
      On the Ridge, TN
      Local Time:
      5:23 AM
      If the above checks out ok, might want to throw a timing light on the engine....
       
    • 68Moparmaniac

      68Moparmaniac Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      896
      Likes Received:
      1459
      Joined:
      Jan 18, 2019
      Location:
      Utah
      Local Time:
      3:23 AM
      All the above doesn't work you may have a worn out throttle plate...
       
    • Imndeep

      Imndeep Active Member

      Messages:
      38
      Likes Received:
      6
      Joined:
      Dec 16, 2014
      Location:
      Marysville, WA.
      Local Time:
      2:23 AM
      I had the same condition you did on my 1413, I had to loosen my aftermarket throttle bracket to ensure that the cable wasn't pulling, which it was found out to be doing. I re-positioned it and it dropped my idle down considerably.
       
      Last edited: Apr 7, 2020
    • steve340

      steve340 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      530
      Likes Received:
      405
      Joined:
      Jul 7, 2018
      Location:
      New Zealand
      Local Time:
      9:23 PM
      As people have said above - if your throttle is not bound up in some way - you could have a vacuum leak.
       
    • 1967coronet

      1967coronet FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      1,253
      Likes Received:
      1491
      Joined:
      Jun 19, 2014
      Location:
      Iowa
      Local Time:
      4:23 AM
      funky base gasket can mess with you also. But its prob like posted above and in the fast idle linkage.
       
    • Geff McCarthy

      Geff McCarthy Member

      Messages:
      18
      Likes Received:
      2
      Joined:
      Aug 5, 2019
      Location:
      Portland OR
      Local Time:
      2:23 AM
      THANKS to senior advisers here! Sure enough, the linkage restricted the return of the throttle. Idles well now. However i had to pull the throttle cable forward, and now there is a small air gap at the firewall. Wrong linkage maybe?
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Imndeep

        Imndeep Active Member

        Messages:
        38
        Likes Received:
        6
        Joined:
        Dec 16, 2014
        Location:
        Marysville, WA.
        Local Time:
        2:23 AM
        Sounds like it.
         
      1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
        By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.