• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Gasoline- what's the difference between the stations?

C'mon Bob, we both know that's simple rape of the unaware, pure and simple. Literally 3 miles off the freeway in Arizona, it's $3.99. Fill a 30 gallon tank, save $100!
Do you know what the CETANE rating is or what % of sulfur is allowed.....or how these affect the NOx emissions? Some diesel engines use EGR to control NOx.....but it just depends on one's perspective....???
BOB RENTON

My perspective is: if I can save $50 for a 20 mile round trip out of my way (I gallon of diesel, $3.29), I'm gonna DO IT!

I worked in the automotive chemical industry. One of our suppliers (who also sold gasoline additives to Shell, BP, etc) told me this:
1. All "base fuel" in your area comes from same gasoline refinery in your area
2. At the refinery, when filling up the tanker trucks, each brand of gasoline gets their own "additive package" (the stuff this guy sold) to their gasoline.
3. "Additive packages" contain things like fuel injector cleaning chemicals, upper cylinder lubricants, etc.
4. Additives cost way more than the base fuel, so more additive = more cost
5. For all brands, regular has the least additive, mid grade has more, and premium has the highest amount of additive added.
6. "Top Tier" or "Tier 1" gasoline has more (extra) additive in it.....so, 87 octane BP gasoline (top tier) may have as much additive as 93 octane "el cheapo" gasoline, or even more.
7. Least amount of additive is in el cheapo 87 octane regular. The most amount of additive is in Tier 1 premium gasoline.