• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

New Guy from California

Do you think the Coronet should be restored or kept original?

• Total voters

davidarch90

Local time
1:28 AM
Reaction score
I'm new to Mopar and find the camaraderie and dedication to the Brand incredible.

I recently received a 1968 Hemi R/T Coronet from my father-in-law (great guy). I included a photo of him and me. He ordered the car new in Sept of '68 from Napa Valley Dodge in Ca, cruised (raced!) it a bit on the streets of the S.F. Bay area in the late 60's and became his family car in the 70's and 80's. He parked the car in his hanger in the late 90's and there it remained until I towed it to my home in So. Ca a few months back. The car is completely original with the exception of the front seat cover bottoms, electronic fuel pump and 1968 American Racing Torq-thrust wheels (I do have the original dog dish hub caps the came with car). The engine has never been opened up and I even have the 2 sets of original keys!

My son and I "carefully" brought it back to life 4 weeks ago after 20+ years of sitting idle. The car shows it's age, but every ding, paint chip and torn seat tells a story. I was going to restore the car, but over the past few weeks I have really enjoyed it's originality and decided to keep the car as it is, paint chips and all...

I have taken the car to several local "Cars-n-Coffee" where I discovered the dedication and knowledge of the Mopar community. I look forward to learning the same.

Coronet 1.jpg Coronet 2.jpg Coronet 3.jpg Coronet 4.jpg Coronet 5.jpg Coronet 6.jpg

Nice car, you rarely see survivor cars that nice. Leave her alone and enjoy it like it is! 440'

Don't do anything but enjoy it just as it is... Congratulations on getting a great gift...