• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

No fire on 1st cylinder

Herbykw

Local time
11:29 AM
Reaction score
I have a 360 sb in my 75 Doba. I recently found out I am not firing on the 1st cylinder. I changed the cap, rotor and wires and checked my plugs. No luck. How do I go about narrowing down this problem from here. I'm not a great mechanic, but I have been learning how to do most things myself. The intake manifold is a weiand, and switched to a Holley 4 barrel. It starts and idles fine still. Is my distributer bad?

Does the cylinder have compression? What does the plug look like?

Pull the number one plug. After you have it out reconnect the plug wire...hold it up with a pair of gloves around the boot of the wire and have someone start the car and see if the plug is sparking....if it is check compression in cylinder....if it isnt then work your way back to the distributer.

I will check to see if the plug is gettin spark by pulling the plug. I hooked up my timing light to it and nothing. All other cylinders set off the timin light. The plugs were dark but thts it. I cleaned them up and re-gapped them. A friend changed the plugs while I was still on active duty, won't trust him to do anything again. :(

what kind of distributor are you running.you could have a bad spot on the pickup inside the distributor to cause #1 cyl to not fire.take a look below the rotor and make sure there is no damage to the pickup assembly.

Check that the metal clip in each end of the plug wire did not get ripped out when changing the plugs.

check the dist cap and make sure all the metal contacts are present. dont make any sence that just number 1 isnt firing.

Sounds like the reluctor is AFU, you can change it, or flip it over.

Use a small puller and don't drop the roll pin. . .