• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Rusty cylinders in block

TexasRoadRunner68

Local time
7:51 PM
Reaction score
So, despite being told my block would be good 0.030 over and using a 0.035 over piston, apparently there is still a ring ridge of 6 thousandths. My rotating assembly is all balanced, so at this point it’s almost cheaper to buy another block and pay to have it checked out and bored.

There are only a couple 400s close by. This one was sired behind a shop and has some surface rust but is supposedly standard bore. Is this rust that you guys think would likely clear up with .035 overbore or would it need more? I’m almost more worried about the rust than ring ridge. It seems like it should, but I have little experience dealing with rusty cylinders.

It’s about an hour away. I can get the long block for $200.

Worth the gamble?

403D5823-9887-4C2C-A11C-5432063446C8.jpeg

1EF2F167-504E-424D-9CEC-F985950430B9.jpeg

5F9F5E82-1FD5-4C8C-A0D0-C382F2342805.jpeg

248F4469-9CC2-4A44-81FE-603964783B3A.jpeg

Hard to tell from a pic, but I think I would pass. Remember .030 over bore only will remove .015 from the cylinder wall at the most. First pic looks like rust pits but again can't tell for sure.

I would sell the pistons you have. Get the block you have bored as little as possible to clean it up, and get the right pistons for your bore. If you buy the same brand/type of piston it shouldn't take much if anything to balance it.

Hard to tell from a pic, but I think I would pass. Remember .030 over bore only will remove .015 from the cylinder wall at the most. First pic looks like rust pits but again can't tell for sure.