• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Soliciting some advice on my new Roadrunner

TexasVol

Local time
6:46 PM
Reaction score
First off, a disclaimer: I'm new to the MOPAR family and also new to actual ownership of a classic car.

I recently purchased a 68 Roadrunner that appears to be in really good shape. It is still sporting its original 383 and 727 and both are working well aside from a little bit of a leak from the tranny. As far as work that's been done prior to me, the front bench was pulled in favor of buckets, new non-roadrunner seat covers were put on the rear seats, and the headliner is newer. There is evidence that it was resprayed in the original Ember Gold, but other than that it appears to be pretty original. (Door jams still have factory stickers)

My original plans were to keep it pretty original, but add things like disc breaks and give it a new paint job. I'm not trying to win car shows or restore it to "off the line" condition. I want a fun weekend cruiser that can occasionally let the 383 unwind.

So am I a complete moron for wanting to change the color of this car? I have no plans to sell it but I don't want to kill any value at the same time. Is there any value to partial original paint?

20230406_124252.jpg

20230406_115423.jpg

20230421_131409.jpg

20230410_195930.jpg

My take is pretty much "do what YOU like". Unless it's a super-rare, low-production, numbers-matching car. The 383 RR was the standard engine for your car. So, you're not into rare territory here. I will say, your car looks nice in that color, you won't see too many around.

A color change is more expensive.
But it does need paint.
Be prepared for a big bill to have it done well.
It's a lot of work.

A color change is more expensive.
But it does need paint.