• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Was your dad a gear head or no?

No, my father was a master carpenter and didn't know anything about a car, except if it was dirty or clean.

My dad was a mason contractor and could build anything with stone but nothing automotive.
It surprises me that there are people that are so skilled at hands on trade work but just don't grasp the principles of automobile repair.
I worked with a variety of guys in the trades that were great in their field as well as being at least competent in other things...Plumbers that could frame, Electricians that could plot an HVAC system, Carpenters that could rough in the plumbing. I have only known a very few that knew enough to be competent at almost everything.
I was a decent Carpenter/framer but never developed a high level of skill to pull wire and actually connect electrical outlets but I can do it.
I was interested in cars a few years before getting into construction. Dad liked cars but wasn't technical about them. I don't recall him ever doing anything more than adding a quart of oil.
Whatever gearhead traits that I have, I developed them myself. He got annoyed with me staining my clothes and getting oil/grease in the house. Mom had to act as a go-between several times, telling him that eventually, I'd save him money by fixing the family cars. She was right. I've saved the family a bunch of money in those 40 years.

It surprises me that there are people that are so skilled at hands on trade work but just don't grasp the principles of automobile repair.