Wiper motor question

Electrical & Ignition

  1. Justin Smith

    Justin Smith Active Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Location:
    Georgia
    Local Time:
    4:09 PM
    When I purchased my 70 Super Bee, the wiper motor was not installed, rather it was removed and a replacement was with it, but not installed. My Rallye Dash seems to have a 2 speed wiper motor switch in the dash, it only has 2 "clicks" when you push it. the motor that came with the car is apparently a 3 speed motor. the 3 speed motor has a plug with 4 wires. First question is how does the wiper motor connect to the power block source on the car? is there another connector that connects it from the motor to the power block on the firewall? second question, can you use a 3 speed motor with a 2 speed switch? Thanks Y'all

    Justin
     
  2. Mike Szadaj

    Mike Szadaj Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    620
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Location:
    St. Clair Shores, Mi
    Local Time:
    3:09 PM
    If the axis of the motor is parallel to the firewall, it is a 3 speed. If the axis of the motor is perpendicular to the fire wall, it is a 2 speed. This is a 3 speed.

    7221.jpg
     
  3. Sixpactogo

    Sixpactogo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    1012
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    Local Time:
    3:09 PM
    The wiper motor plug should fit on the firewall plug on your firewall. You will need a 3 speed switch. It has the extra terminal on it. Your wiring harness should have the extra wire built into your harness. Should be a brown wire that is not connected to anything. The 3 speed motor uses a different crank but the linkage arms are the same. I changed mine on my 68 Charger with no problems with the wiring.
     
  4. Mike Szadaj

    Mike Szadaj Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    620
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Location:
    St. Clair Shores, Mi
    Local Time:
    3:09 PM
    The four wires seem to be on both motors. The third speed is achieved by a resistor that is attached to the three speed wiper switch.
     
  5. Mike Szadaj

    Mike Szadaj Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    620
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Location:
    St. Clair Shores, Mi
    Local Time:
    3:09 PM
    What kind of air cleaner is on the engine? Hemi and 6 pack cars and 440's with a four bbl and under hood fresh air ducting with the large oval air cleaners were required to have 3 speed wipers because a 2 speed would interfere with the bottom of the air cleaner assembly. The way a 3 speed motor "lays down" nearer to the firewall allows enough room for the large air cleaner.
     
  6. Stanton

    Stanton Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,340
    Likes Received:
    2117
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    ON
    Local Time:
    4:09 PM
    Unless you have an oval air cleaner I'd just buy a reman 2-speed and install that ... a lot less hassle !! To install the 3-speed you need the harness connector, the proper crank and bushing and the 3-speed switch. neither the crank and bushing nor the switch are cheap. And how often will you need those wipers anyhow ?!?!
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Justin Smith

      Justin Smith Active Member

      Messages:
      44
      Likes Received:
      22
      Joined:
      Jan 2, 2020
      Location:
      Georgia
      Local Time:
      4:09 PM
      its a hemi. I run 2 small air cleaners on the engine currently. The car came with a 3 speed switch that was not installed along with the 3 speed motor BUT it is a twist knob, not a push button. Do they make a 3 speed push button switch? The twist knob I have seems to be for a different style dash. not for a Rallye Dash.
       
    • Stanton

      Stanton Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      2,340
      Likes Received:
      2117
      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2012
      Location:
      ON
      Local Time:
      4:09 PM
      '70 Bee should be a rocker switch.
       
    • Justin Smith

      Justin Smith Active Member

      Messages:
      44
      Likes Received:
      22
      Joined:
      Jan 2, 2020
      Location:
      Georgia
      Local Time:
      4:09 PM
      It is, it has 2 clicks to it.
       
    • Stanton

      Stanton Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      2,340
      Likes Received:
      2117
      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2012
      Location:
      ON
      Local Time:
      4:09 PM
      and guess how many clicks the 3-speed has !!!

      I was addressing you point of having a "twist knob" and your question "do they make a 3-speed rocker".

      Of course they did.
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • devinism

        devinism Member

        Messages:
        12
        Likes Received:
        11
        Joined:
        Mar 13, 2013
        Location:
        McMinnville, OR
        Local Time:
        1:09 PM
        Did you get it sorted out yet?
         
      • Justin Smith

        Justin Smith Active Member

        Messages:
        44
        Likes Received:
        22
        Joined:
        Jan 2, 2020
        Location:
        Georgia
        Local Time:
        4:09 PM
        I ordered a 2 speed wiper motor and a harness for it. Wiper motor is going to take some time to come in but I believe this will be the way to go.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • Stanton

          Stanton Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          2,340
          Likes Received:
          2117
          Joined:
          Aug 8, 2012
          Location:
          ON
          Local Time:
          4:09 PM
          I agree !!
           
          • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
          1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
            By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.