3 Speed Wiper Switch with 2 Speed Wiper motor

Nachtfalke

Member
Local time
10:10 AM
Joined
Sep 21, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Location
SH, Germany
Hey everyone,
i currently have the instrument cluster disassembled for refreshing and decided to look into an issue with the wiper switch i have had for years. The Wiper speeds are inverted, off is off, low is high, mid setting is high too, and high is low. The car still has the original 2-speed wiper motor, but the previous owner put a 3-speed wiper switch in when he replaced the wiring harness. Could that be the issue? Or is it something i can fix by swapping the wires on the wiper switch? The car is a 69 Dodge Charger

- Stephan
 

Stanton

Well-Known Member
Local time
4:10 AM
Joined
Aug 8, 2012
Messages
4,099
Reaction score
4,396
Location
Ontario, Canada
The connectors for the switches are the same for both two and three speed EXCEPT three speed has an extra terminal and connector on the side. The wiring into the terminals is the same for both switches. You might be better of switching the wires at the bulkhead connector in the engine compartment OR on the wiper motor. It should be a simple fix - the low speed wire goes through the balast resistor on the wiper motor - swap that wire with the high speed one out of the 4-wire connector. This would be a lot easier than working under the dash !!
 

pnora

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:10 AM
Joined
Apr 21, 2020
Messages
2,432
Reaction score
2,603
Location
Ishpeming, Mi.
Keep it simple. You need a 2 speed switch.
 

Stanton

Well-Known Member
Local time
4:10 AM
Joined
Aug 8, 2012
Messages
4,099
Reaction score
4,396
Location
Ontario, Canada
He's in Germany, how easy do you think a 2-speed switch will be to find. Switching wires in the connectors is the fast and easy way !!
 

pnora

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:10 AM
Joined
Apr 21, 2020
Messages
2,432
Reaction score
2,603
Location
Ishpeming, Mi.
He's in Germany, how easy do you think a 2-speed switch will be to find. Switching wires in the connectors is the fast and easy way !!
That would be up to him. He has the cluster out now. I prefer to do it right and not make a bastard child out of it.
 

Top