• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

5.7 hemi in a 63 belvedere

4dr4ever

Local time
10:01 AM
Reaction score
So I've been working away steadily getting everything I need. I'm cheap @$$ so everything I'm trying to get is on the cheap Luckily for my I'm a vehicle salvage dismantler so I take cars apart for a living. This past week I got my hands on an 06 hemi Charger.

So Being me I gutted the wiring harness out of the car and bought it from work. I have two harness' now one from the charger and one from an 08 hemi truck as well as their respective computers.

I also have a 2008 Hemi complete that I found and purchased for 100 bucks off kijiji because the guy wanted to get rid of it and it had a slight knock in the bottom end. I pulled it down and found a snapped rod, pretty basic bearings were perfect everything looks good. Weighed my options and I think that likely the rest of the rods make me nervous so I once again happened across a 2010 dodge truck that had a severe front end collision. The intake was destroyed so we parted the motor out. The block was perfect so I purchased the short block for 100 dollars. Could potentially run into the rod issue again but the 08 block I had was over 100000 kms, and the new shortblock is only about 35000.

So that basically sums up my engine other then one custom factor I'm planning but I'll get into that later.

I'm trying to figure out what tranny to run. I have a 545rfe that was just a stock rotation and I picked up cheap. but I also have access to a w5a580(NAG1) that I can get cheap as well. I know there are some issues with speed sensors and such with that but with my 63 I want to try and run a 8 3/4 for rear gearing selectability. does anyone know of a good way to make that work?