• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

73 satellite 4 door /6 to 4.7L engine swap

73satellite4dor

Local time
3:29 PM
Reaction score
Hey folks,
I'm brand new to this and i'm hoping someone might know something for me.
I have a 73 satellite 4 door, and i plan to take the slant and the 3 speed auto (904 i think) out of it and use a 4.7L from a 2001 Dakota (4wd). I've already discovered that i need either a 2wd tranny or switch the tail section on the trany removing the transfer case. I plan on using the factory 7 1/4 and possibly modifying the drivshaft or making a new one at a local shop.
I havent actually started yet but my first question is engine and trany mounts. Is there some place i could find them pre-made or would mounts from a different engine work? Or will my original K frame work for me.
I'm not looking for big power or anything, just a nice street cruiser. Any info would help.

IMG_5310.JPG

IMG_6063.JPG

IMG_6096.JPG

The slant 6 would be a superior engine compared to the 4.7. Why not a magnum series engine with a A 500 4spd? It would be simpler and no ecm required. You will need a V8 K member and trans. The trans that usually goes behind the 4.7 is unique and may require a lot of effort to make it work. Best of luck on you endeavor.

Yeah....imo, the /6 wouldn't be a bad engine vs the 4.7.......and I HATE the /6 LOL And introduce yourself in the Welcome Wagon. Anyways, welcome to the site. You will find many here that know way more than I do and well, some here stink I know a lot :)