• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

a833 trans / clutch problem

r/t rick

Local time
6:53 PM
Reaction score
Hello everyone I have a 69 superbee 383 4 speed that I have been working on and off for 13 years. the car sat since 79 until I found it in 98. anyway the car does run and drive very well except that the trans grinds slightly going into every gear when shifting (driving) if sitting still and engine running I can shift freely into any gear no problem or grinding. I checked trans fluid level perfectly clean and full. clutch grabs about half way and does have some chatter. I would say about 3 times over the course of thirteen years the clutch has frozen on me from sitting and I would have to start in gear and slam the brakes to free it up. My question is... is this clutch shot and not fully disengaging causing the trans to grind slightly or is there something I should be looking at inside the trans like synchronizers? sorry so long but wanted to give a clear picture of what is going on. Thanks rick