• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Break in question for a 440-512cui Stroker Build with a billet hydraulic roller cam

Moparjack 489

Local time
1:43 PM
Reaction score
If I should use a „ TB Zinc-Plus“ ( like von Lucas Oil) for the engine break in or not?

I know it’s „ normally „ only a must have for break in a flat tappet cam , but in near future my 512 Stroker build are finish , and some friend tell me „don’t forget to use this „ Zinc add“ on the first start ( break in) also by a hydraulic roller cam it’s good to use“ even it is not absolutely necessary ….

Other friend say“ you don’t use them by a hydraulic roller cam break in“ …..

So, I’m not an engine expert, and only would like to know is it a good idea to use it on a hydraulic roller break in too, or better not ??

Just FYI: I not waste money for them, because I still have 3 brand new bottles in my garage, because before my engine run like a 440 with a flat tappet cam and I use it by the break in and also on each oil change I add one bottle to the new oil .

Also what oil you recommend for a engine like this? Minerale / half or only full synthetic ?
We like to try first a 5W- 30 and look the oil pressure are enough , if not we change to 10W-30

Motor have „more good tight „ clearance „ and build with the follow parts :

TFS-61617801-C00 Heads​

With

440 Source Stroker Kit 440-512cui
+

COMP Cams Evolution Series Hydraulic Roller Lifters 89211-16​

and a

Howards Cams Retrofit Hydraulic Roller Camshafts 723445-08​

Plus the

Harland Sharp Heavy-Duty Roller Rockers S70016KE​

Thank you in advance and
Best regards Steffen

Mj, your build sounds quite a bit like my engine. My Builder strongly recommends Valvoline VF-1, 10W-30, and He's had Extensive Experience on a Major US Race Circuit.