• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Car takes a pee

Nick ciavarino

Local time
4:54 AM
Reaction score
Hi I have my heater hoses blocked off at the water pump.I have a bad heater core and i'm too lazy and not savvy enough to change it.Will this cause the car to overheat? i have a 160 degree thermostat in it now. I had 180 in it before still took a leak.64 sportfury
Thanks Nick

Nope. No effect. Heater core is easy to change in a ‘64. Small box, drops easily. Cores they sell aren’t quite exact but it doesn’t take much to make them fit properly.

As far as I'm concerned they should be looped together, so flow stays the same as having a heater core, vs being blocked off.

I haven't got any heater hoses (no heater). I have end stops on the manifold and water pump. Car runs perfectly well at 180 degrees, in winter temperatures (70 degrees) or summer (85-110 degrees).

I removed the inlet and outlet nipples ":D" on the water pump and used pipe plugs.

I have a 180* Tstat and that's where it mostly runs. Never over 190* on hot days in traffic.

The temperature of the thermostat only controls when the coolant is allowed to circulate, not the temperature that the coolant can or will reach. That's controlled by the radiator, fan, fan shroud, timing, amount of antifreeze to water ratio, water pump.

Nick make sure you have a good 15lb. cap on it.
And leave at least 1" of room on top when filling with coolant for heat expansion.

As far as I'm concerned they should be looped together, so flow stays the same as having a heater core, vs being blocked off.
When the temperature control valve is shut off-there is no flow.
Mike

I run all of my cars like this with no heater or ac. I just cut a plate to block everything on the firewall.

IMG-20200611-WA0044.jpg IMG-20200611-WA0006.jpg