• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Electroluminescent

Rooster27

Local time
5:35 AM
Reaction score
Hey guys and gals hope all is well with you and your families! I my wife and I recently inherted a 66 Charger. When i got done cleaning the inside up a bit and dropped it back off to my father-in-law. The electroluminescent cluster was working and was absolutely beautiful! We got the car back and the clusters no longer work and the heater does not either. I checked fuses and they all seemed good and in working condition. I'm not very good with electronics but I'm willing to learn. I do know there is a capacitor that can get worn out and could need replacing. I just find it weird that the heater stopped working at the same time, unless that works off the same capacitor. The radio and dome lights all still work so the NOS box still seems to be good. Any guidance is much appreciated!

Hey Rooster, Hopefully you have a wiring diagram and voltmeter. There are basically what are called " welded connections " or splices of sorts, under the dash. These are "star" distribution points. One is the "ignition circuit" that supplies multiple switched 12 volt source wires to things that only get power when key is on and car is running. The other is other is "battery +12 circuit " or volts star distribution point that provides multiple source feeds to things that can be operated with car off such as interior lights, lighter, ect.