• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Gear quality and getting a good set-up

fourgearsavoy

Local time
2:23 AM
Reaction score
I've been setting up gears for about 30 years now but lately I have been getting some poor results with the current gear sets. I have to spend more time getting a decent pattern and there is much more compromise between the drive and coast patterns. To get a decent coast pattern I need to put the drive pattern too close to the crown and it's very rare to get a good pattern on both sides of the ring gear.
Anybody else having this issue with new gears? I have an 8 3/4 with a noisy 3.73 gear in it now that I'm probably going to eat the new gear and the labor just to keep the customer happy.

Gus

In the past twenty years I've probably set up fifty sets of gears in 8.75 pumpkins... I've used US Gear almost exclusively because they always set up quick & easy with a good pattern drive & coast... Last one I set up was probably two years ago, about a year ago I started looking for 3.73 gears for a personal project... Turns out US Gear has stopped making gears for 8.75 axles... I still haven't decided how I'm gonna proceed..

Thirty plus years ago I built pumpkins with Richmond gears, Zoom gears, Yukon gears & lots of other brands... With mixed results... Never great but some were better than others...

I'm at a point if I can't get something I trust I won't be building anymore pumpkins...

I'd love to hear what brands are better/ not so good and why.

It's all about how the pattern comes out & if they run quiet... I beat my stuff some, but not like I would thirty/forty years ago so failure isn't much of an issue but I don't want the gears to make more noise than the engine...