• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Making and installing enclosed trailer escape door.

QOTHL

Local time
10:41 AM
Reaction score
Bigger pain in the *** than I expected but probably because I've never done it before. The next time I see the guy who says they installed his door in 2 1/2hrs I'm going to kick him right in the ***! :)
There's a guy on youtube demonstrating how to cut the hole for the door - I don't recommend doing it that way. I cut the sides and the bottom and then the top so that the piece fell right out.

I decided to use 1/8, 1 1/2 steel tubing. I'm not sure the "x" pattern is ideal for this application but like the idea. It has created some challenges for a door that opens on the front. This door measures 4'w x 6'l.
DSC_0956.jpg
DSC_0963.jpg

The Metabo cutter makes this easy to cut.
DSC_0965.jpg
DSC_0972.jpg
DSC_0974.jpg

Fitting the hinges was a big pain. As you can see I had to weld extensions of tubing to attach the bolts.
DSC_1003.jpg

I added tubing for support. The hinges attach to a 1/8" x 2" steel tube stud. The rest of the framing is 1/8" x 1 1/2 steel tubing.
DSC_1005.jpg
DSC_0955.jpg

If you'd built the door with uprights instead of that X brace then putting in the hinge and lock supports would have been a breeze.

If you'd built the door with uprights instead of that X brace then putting in the hinge and lock supports would have been a breeze.

Mounting the hinges would have been a big pain either way from what I experienced with fitting and clearances. The "x" keeps it lighter. Uprights still don't solve the problem of multiple horizontal bolt holes. I like the problem solving and then pissing and moaning about it. :)
I can weld so makes no difference to me about fabricating stuff. Thanks for the support!