• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Newbie 318 questions

Flathead38

Local time
3:35 AM
Reaction score
Hi all, I am a newbie trying to help my brother return a '69 Charger to the road for his son (see my intro). I have some basic 318 questions I was hoping to get some answers on...

We are tearing into the original 318 to fix a leaky left head gasket (I hope that's all it is). The engine has not been apart for 40 years, and has an Edelbrock LD4B intake manifold. When I pulled the intake, a couple of questions came to mind... The heads will come off in the next day or two, and then I'll probably have more questions...

1) The block has 4 coolant passages (2 on each bank) that mate with the intake, in the very front, and in the very rear. The Edelbrock manifold has corresponding openings only for the front pair. Why are the rear two passages disabled/blocked off?

2) Unfortunately there is considerable corrosion at the coolant ports in the aluminum intake, but it's in good condition otherwise. Is it feasible to weld them to restore the ports?

3) In the very center of each head, there is a port that mates with the intake, whose purpose is not obvious to me... In our case, these ports, right and left, are almost completely plugged with carbon. What is their purpose, and what would cause the excessive buildup? Blow by from a forty-year-old engine (although it doesn't really smoke much when running)?

To head off the "dump the 318 and stab in a big block" comments, I am helping my brother's high-school age son get this running, and that's not viable option for him for now...

Probably best to provide pix for your first 2 queries. The heat crossover passage you refer to is a common problem with carbon build up.... clean it out.