• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Old guy, long-standing Goldmember.

ywca

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
1:17 AM
Reaction score
I have never made a post on this site or any other site. I am pretty well computer illiterate, but I’m learning very slowly. I have just retired after being 45 years of self-employed .at 20 years old. I bought a repair shop in southwestern Manitoba. all my family were entrepreneurs, and I knew that I could never work for anybody., my father owned a small little service station on the southwestern Shores of Lake Winnipeg. I was around cars in my early child hood working for my father fixing tires and pumping gas at the age of 10. I graduated from college in the automotive trade in 1976 two years later I bought my shop. I thought I found my calling by buying that repair shop that I owned for 16 years but back in the day being in a farming community. If the crops weren’t good, you didn’t get paid for the work that you’ve done. Since I was a couple hours from any major center, obtaining parts was very difficult. most of the vehicles that I worked on were Chevys Fords, and some Chrysler products. I stocked the common parts for rebuilding alternators, starters transmissions, and all the tuneup stuff that I needed and brakes. this was a bare bone shop with no equipment. I purchased disc and drum lathe snap on silos scope, had a Sioux valve grind machine did a lot of head work on GMs ,and piles of specially tools to do the job at hand. Bought a tow truck ,end up having a wrecking yard. collected a lot of old vehicles from the 30s and 40s and 50s. decided I needed a change and bought a rundown Island resort on Lake Of The Woods in Ontario. built it up to a thriving business and I just sold it in May. I am turning 66 years old and it’s time to