• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Passed Down 72 Charger Need Some Help Diagnosing

Mike Dorn

Local time
11:35 PM
Reaction score
Hi Everyone, need some help diagnosing what’s going on here, essentially it sounds like a backfire but happens every motor rotation, not sure what’s really going on my first thought was timing but any help would really be appreciated. My background is electrical stuff but this has me stumped. I have linked a video below of what it’s doing

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Your video hasn't downloaded yet. So, guessing here but 2 possibilities. Distributor 180 out. Easy check, pull it and install 180° and try it. Other is firing order. Small block rotates clockwise. Check that wires are in correct order and clockwise.

I am in full agreement with diesel_lv… have you changed spark plugs or spark plug wires? Had you pulled the distributor for any reason? A possible 3rd reason could be that the timing chain is stretched and has jumped. The firing order is cast into the intake manifold and general info is available on the internet.

Your video hasn't downloaded yet. So, guessing here but 2 possibilities. Distributor 180 out. Easy check, pull it and install 180° and try it. Other is firing order. Small block rotates clockwise. Check that wires are in correct order and clockwise.
Thank for very much for the info, something weird happened with iCloud I changed the link to one that works, it’s is a 440 and what’s really stumping me is that it used to run fine then started having this issue, put a few thousand miles on it and ran smooth prior to this. Video should be good now if that’ll help.