• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Powermaster noise

Ingemar Viklund

Local time
6:59 AM
Reaction score
So..I have a one year old powermaster generator that has suddenly started to make some noise. From what I can hear It's worse in neutral. A little better when in in drive. No wining noise, almost like a bad waterpump, but I have located the noise to the alternator. What to do?

I would take the belt off and spin by hand and check for rough bearings. If that doesn't work remove and take to parts store and have them spin and check it. Best would be if you have a starter/ alt re builder close but they are getting far and few between.

I would take the belt off and spin by hand and check for rough bearings. If that doesn't work remove and take to parts store and have them spin and check it. Best would be if you have a starter/ alt re builder close but they are getting far and few between.
Agreed. Possibly the belt was too tight?

I had the same problem with 2 Powermaster alternators.
Junk from the factory.
Expensive junk ......

I didn't see you are in Sweden. Bearings are the first thing that comes to mind that make noise. It might be just as easy to get the bearings replaced. Ask around agriculture dealers for who rebuilds this. In this country old tractors never die, just get repurposed.

Gonna try and loosen it a little. Weird thing is, when I put the car in drive or reverse and the rpm goes down a little the noise almost goes away.